NaNo Chapter 3 cont’

HOlY CRAP! It’s a date! What the hell am I supposed to do on a date? I’ve never been on one before! Crap! Why does this seem like such a bad idea now?

My freaking out has manifested itself externally, through my physical getures, but since I’ve been internalizing the entire thought process, Red has been giving me weird looks…again. I just become mindful of it, and nervously laughing off my insanity, I posit a question to Red.

“Have you ever been on a date before?”

“So, that’s what you were freaking about just then?” He asks knowingly. I nod. “Yeah, sure. I’m guessing you haven’t?” I slump my shoulders and nod. “And you have no idea what to do?” Nod again.

“So, what do I do?”

“Be yourself.”

“That can’t be right.”

“Listen, I know you’re going out with Yellow. She’s been you’re friend for a while. So if you suddenly change because ‘you’re on a date’, you’re going to look like an idiot and possibly end up losing a friend. While if you’re being yourself, she’ll be comfortable, and even if things don’t work out as couple, you can probably still be friends.”

“…I guess so…”

“…You didn’t hear a word I just said, did you?” I gave him a sheepish look. “Sigh, just relax, have fun, and be yourself.”

“OKAY! I’m gonna do it!” I started to march off, pumped up.

“Your date’s tonight?”

I stopped dead in my tracks. “No. It’s tomorrow. Haha!”

We decided to go to a local 24-hour diner, as the food there is good and cheap, and as poor college students both of those aspects were wins in our minds. Plus, it was a short work from the dorms, and Yellow was refusing to let me drive.

“What if you faint while driving?” She said.

“Then you can drive?”

“What if I get pulled over, and the cops check the insurance and see I’m not on the policy?”

“Then, I’ll just tell them it’s my car, and I asked you to drive.”

“But what if?”

“How about we walk?”

“…OKAY!” That seemed to satisfy her. We left the lobby of the dorm together, and almost immediately, she grabbed my hand, like it was the most natural thing to do.

That satisied me…it made me happy, okay?

On the way there, we talked about (bitched about) schoolwork and part-time jobs. Most of the classes we were taking were bullshit, mandatory freshman stuff that even the instructors knew were bullshit, but the university forced us take them for “enrichment purposes”, whatever the hell that means. Yellow works part-time a bookstore: the work is boring, but the pay is decent, and she has access to all the free manga she wants. She’s lucky though, as she wants to be writer, and she’s working a place that may one day sell one of her own books.

Myself, I don’t work, at least regularly. I work freelance doing oddjobs for various video game companies. Sometimes it’s actual contract work for a real project, and other times, it’s setting up a PR campaign for a new game. It’s satisfying, but also in a way not necessary. I’m here on scholarship from some mysterious endownment. I have no idea who gave it to me, why, nor how to contact them. So I can neither thank them, nor wonder if I’m taking blood money or something of the like.

Yeah, living in this town is weird, but you roll with the punches.

Or in my case, faint.

…Where was I? Oh, yeah! The date! We got there, and luckily it wasn’t packed. We step up to the waiting area, and a waitress greets us.

Note: Since I seriously need to catch up, I decided to write this after a shower. I was hoping to finish up until the next time Blue faints, but my eyes are starting to hurt. More tomorrow!

About imaginationac

I make things with computers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

