NaNo Chapter 2, 3

It was cold. I felt like I was frozen in block of ice. or Carbonite (TM), but for whatever reason, I felt chilled to the bone. I should probably open my eyes.

When I did, I found myself on the floor of the Wal-Mart. I have no idea how long I was out, but it seems it wasn’t long enough for anyone to notice, or at least I hope so.
I did feel very groggy, and was having trouble finding any feeling in my extermities. The air tasted stale and the lights were…well they were still off, but there was definitely some sort of ambiant light from above. Looking up, I could clearly see from where.

The sky had apparently replaced the ceiling, or what was left of it.

Picking myself off the floor, I blinked a few times, and then looked around to get a look at my surroundings. Signs of decay were all around: toppled shelves, rusty metal, broken walls, and moldy floors.

Just how long had I been unconscious?

Thinking I was still asleep, I pinched my check. “Ow!” No change. This had to be some collosal prank, right? Maybe I had finally gone nuts? Instead of continuing to try to find out exactly what was going on, I took out my cell phone. Flipping it open, the signal meter was staring me with zero bars, and the screen read “No Service Available”. I wasn’t exactly surprised, I never really got good service inside this particalr Wal-Mart, but it was worth a shot.

Standing here was making me antsy, so I might as well finish the game of hide-and-seek. I went to search for Yellow. As I walked the remains of the store, I couldn’t see any signs of life. At this point, I thought it was best to give up on winning this game. “Yellow! I give up! You can come out now!” I received no reply. Yellow would never give up the opportunity for an easy win, and given how very silent the store was, there wasn’t a remote possibility that she had not heard me. The only conclusion I could come up with was she wasn’t here anymore.

Which would mean I was alone.

I…almost forgot to breathe at that realization. Pushing myself to focus, I decided to get the hell out of there. Running like a zombie hoard was after me, I was at the front of the store in no time. Further signs of decay were all around: strewn boxes of various sizes, broken glass, and walls that had seen better days. I just hoped the front doors would open. I pushed against one of the manual doors and it swung open without much resistance.

Stepping outside, I was convinced I was no longer in the same world.

It appeared to be sometime during the day, but…the sky was red! Blood red! Okay, I got to stop freaking myself out like that. Still, aside from a shift in color emitted form the sky, the entire surrounding area was bare, there wasn’t a single car in the parking lot (so there wasn’t a chance of driving out of here), and the air outside was just as stale as it was in there.

I was worried about running out air when I saw something strange at the edge of the lot. Well, that to be exact; the edge of the lot was broken up and crumbled and I couldn’t see any terrain past it. I cautiously approached the edge, and about 10 feet from, I could see why I felt uneasy, and probably the reason why the air was thin.

This store and the surrounding lot was in the sky! Like some floating island. I was pretty high up too, I could barely make out the ground from up here, definitely could not see anything distinctive. Taking a few steps, for fear of falling of the edge and to my doom, I slowly sat down and just tried to take everything in. I had very few options as to what I could do next. I could continue to search my surroundings, looking for a way to turn everything back to the way it was, or find a way down to the surface, or…just stay up here and…

Nah…too painful to think about.

Just as I was about to stand up again, I could hear something that sounded like jet engines. The sound was getting closer. Suddenly, I felt a huge amount of air pressure pushing against me from the front. I had to squint my eyes to see what was producing it, but it seemed to be some sort of aircraft. Before I had a chance to get a better look, the side of the air craft opened up with a ramp, and two humanoid figures came out rushing at me. Before i could react, they grabbed me and threw me into the craft.

I blacked out again.

When I awoke again, there was a distinct presense of humanity in front of me.

Yellow was staring at me, worriedly, with her face about say… an inch from mine. I was hoping my blushing wasn’t showing.

“Thank goodness! You’re up!” She exclaimed estatically, and gives me a warm embrace. I’m thinking I should pass out more often. But I want to confirm I’m in the right state of…well the right state.

“What happened? Where am I?” I ask.

“You passed out at Wal-Mart. After waiting for 10 minutes for you to find me, I went looking for you. An employee found you on the floor in the electronics department. You couldn’t be revived, so you were taken to the hospital.”

“Ah…sorry about that. How long was I out for.”

“Um…”

“Well?”

“A week.”

“…A WEEK?!”

“Yeah…the doctors were worried that you might have hit your head when you collapsed, and that you wouln’t respond after being treated. They said your brain was fine, and was in fact active, but they couldn’t find a reason why you wouldn’t wake up.”

“Wow…” I didn’t feel like I was in that other world that long. Maybe it really was a dream. Wait a minute.
“If I’ve been out for a week, why were you hovering over me so, uh, closely.”

It was her turn to blush.

“Um! No reason…hehe. I’m, j-just going to tell the doctor y-you’re up now.” She quickly exited stage left.

My curiosity in to Yellow’s motives at the time not withstanding, It’s hard to beleive I’ve been unconscious for a week. I’ve never even slept for a half a day before. Still, it’s bette than being back there. I do wonder who those people where and what they were going to do to me. Interrogation? Torture? Worse?

Taking my thoughts off the other world, I looked around the hospital room. It looked like I was in private room. There was just the bed I was on now. A TV, off, was hanging on the wall in front of me. To my left was a small endtable with loads of cards from well-wishers, and a helium balloon that read “Get well, NOW!”. I’m guessing that one’s from Yellow. She’s impatient like that. Over in the far corner was the door to the bathroom. Other than that, it was a fairly ordinary patient room.

I felt odd, though, and it had nothing to do with the IV line in my arm. I couldn’t quite place it though.

Yellow returned, along with a middle aged man, who was wearing a physician’s robe (that’s what they’re called right?), I’m assuming is my doctor.

“Ah, glad to see you’re finally up. I’m Dr. Grey. I’ve been in charge of you’re care since you’ve arrived here.”

“Thanks Dr. Grey.” I reply in earnest.

“If you don’t mind, I’d like to do a routine quick examination.”

“Sure.”

He did his exam, but all the while I couldn’t help but thinking…”…have I seen you before Doctor?”

“Hmm? No, I’ve treated you before. Perhaps your body is used to my presense, I’ve been here quite a bit over the past week, tending to your care afte all.”

“Yeah, maybe that’s it.”

“Are you feeling any fatigue, soreness, stiffness?”

“No, in fact I feel pretty good.”

“That’s good to hear. Well, normally, I’d like to keep you overnight for observation, as we’re not sure why you passed out like you did, but for the time, I’ll just schedule you for a followup. Do you have any questions for me?”

“Does that mean I can leave today?”

“Certainly! I’ll have a nurse give you the discharge papers. Take it easy, and I’ll see you on your next appointment.” He left.

“Isn’t that great, Blue? You get to go home!” Yellow was clearly enthused at the prospect. “Blue? Are you okay?”

“He was lying.”

“Huh? Dr.
Grey?”

What was he lying about?”

“I’ve definitely met him before this.”

“…Maybe he doesn’t remember.”

“…Maybe, but..”

“But what?”

“I don’t like him. I mean I really get the creeps from that guy.”

“…Hmm, well, if it’s a problem, you can get you checkup at another hospital. Though…do you know why you don’t like him, aside from the lying?”

“No. But it’s there. The feeling, that he’s not someone I should trust.”

“Gotcha! I can beat him up for you if you want?”

“Uh…no thanks. That would probably, make things worse.”

“Ah, so what are you going to do?”

I thought for a moment.

“…I still need to get softer pillows.”

END OF CHAPTER 2

CHAPTER 3

    You know why college sucks? It’s not because you’re paying for your education, or because of crappy 1×1 foot door rooms, or moldy cafeteria food, or not being able to get into a single good party because you’re a freshman, or because you’re too young to (legally) drink, or because you get homesick after the first week, or because you end up charging 3 credit cards to the max in order to cover the costs of your books.
   
    College sucks because no one gives a damn if you’ve been out for a week due to being unvoluntarily unconscious. Those other reasons are icing on a very sour cake.
    It’s the Monday after my “leave of absense”, and despite having a perfectly valid excuse for being gone an entire week with an official doctor’s note and everything, the professors at this place are hardass sadists!
    Sigh. Yes, I am physically and mentally sighing.

Despite all the work I have to make up, I’m in good spirits. See, since the incident, Yellow’s been hanging around me quite a lot. I think she’s afraid I’m going to have another fainting spell. Any other guy might be emascualted by all the attention, but me, I’ve been milking it for all I can.
    And it’s finally paid off.

Tomorrow night, Yellow and I are going on a date!

Note: I have been woefully remiss in my writing frequency. I’m aiming to write at least 1667 words per day as per the suggestion from NaNo stats page. If need be, I’ll make up the rest on a the final day (procrastination for the win). Ignore the odd shift in formatting, just trying things out.

About imaginationac

I make things with computers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

