Game Dev

For the past few days, I’v been working on a game project I started a while back to get familiar with using Game Maker. It’s been amazing the amount of progress I’ve been making, and the amount of focus I have. Maybe being out of school has something to do with that, but I’m putting in at least 4 hours a day on this one game.

I mentioned this on my old Blogger blog, so there are a few entries about it already. I like using Game Maker because it’s fairly easy to get a new idea in quickly, test it, and fix it. The lack of total control is already starting to be a bother though. There are also a lot of programming staples that are missing from GML (like increment and decrement operators and multiple assignment). I guess working with MEL I’ve gotten used to lite programming.

Anyway, I’m going to spend no more than a month on this, and then move on to another project in ActionScript using either Flixel or FlashPunk.

I’m also working on yet another attempt to enter something for the 11 Second Club compo this month. I’ve gotten the first pose blocked, but I’ve got up to 9 more to go, and then, of course comes the rest.

Still in between deciding to find work and going back to school. I’m looking an a position completed unrelated to the games industry because I was contacted personally via email. I’m also looking into the programs at Full Sail University. I like that many programs are available both on campus and online. I’ll probably choose the option that’s cheaper (probably online), but if I decide to go back to school, I also want to go somewhere, and Florida is not Georgia so…

Anyway, that’s what’s been going on. Still have crappy DSL (I think the modem is dying, I’ve had to power cycle it twice today).

About imaginationac

I make things with computers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

