Some minor workarounds

So I’ve had trouble using the interactive skin bind tool in Maya. It’s really useful for skinning and setting up initial weights for characters, but the scene file decided to crap on me when adjusting the weights with the interactive tool. For some reason, Maya wants to save to a temp directory when using the tool, and it can’t write to there for some reason. So it crashes and I have start over fun. I worked around that by detaching the skin and binding using Smooth Bind. It’s a bit tedious, but I’m learning a few things as I go.

Here’s a picture of the mesh with some the weights painted:

Weird skin weights

Trying to paint the vertexes with an influence of zero doesn’t seem to be going all that well. The tool is behaving like it should. If I can’t get them all painted right, I’m going to have to look up a tutorial on rigging and weight painting.

About imaginationac

I make things with computers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

