Almost 2010

It’s hard to believe it’s almost 2010, but in this time zone, there’s only 45 minutes until the new year. Exciting!

I’ve been fiddling around with the new version of Game Maker shortly after it was released. Free upgrades are nice. It feels much like GM 7 but having gone through and actually read the help, I’m starting to get the hang of things. Yoyo Games recently announced their Competition 05 and I’m going to enter something. I started prototyping based on what I learned from Derek Yu‘s Game Maker Tutorials, and I got as far as making the player move. I was aiming for doing an 8 directional arena shooter, but I haven’t been able to get my head around making the bullet fire properly. In trying to debug the problem, I was trying to get things to print on screen, but using GM in not the same as say cout in in C/C++ or print in Java. It’s late so maybe a fresh mind tomorrow, in the new year will do me some good.

Happy New Year, and welcome 2010!

About imaginationac

I make things with computers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

